Fountain in the Park
- Apr 3, 2024
- 1 min read
Updated: Nov 19, 2025
In the park by the Parish Church of the Assumption of Mary stands a double stone fountain, which provided water to the residents of Šmarje for over a century. Historical records indicate that the fountain was built in 1821 on the main square and remained in use until Šmarje pri Jelšah was connected to the water supply in 1935. Today, the fountain serves as an interesting historical monument, offering visitors a glimpse into the everyday life and infrastructure of the town in past centuries.
+386 31 420 653 tic@smarje.si

